I can’t let go. So I hold on. I can’t give up. So I hold on. Each breath, each shallow breath, may be your last. Maybe if I keep holding tight to your pale, fragile hand you will stay with me. I’m holding on, there is nothing left for me to do. Being without you feels like, well like not living at all. I don’t know what I would do without your strength, your smile, your warmth. Who would I call when I had a hard day or when I had good news to share? I could call you, but you couldn’t answer. It would just keep ringing with no one there to say hello. Oh please, don’t go. Just hold on. I know if you leave you would be in a better place. Where there are no tears, no pain, no disease. A place where your soul would be free of old age and free of the brokenness of this world. But I can’t have you go yet. Not just yet. I need you here with me. So I hold on.

 

Leave a Reply

